Affective Teaching Response Letters: It’s all about the one.

Redhead, double shot.

Each year I ask my students to tell me what to change and improve for the next year. I make sure that I have created an area where they can be truthful and honest and they know their grade won’t be effected. I also know that I will get some “you suck”s and that I will take those the most harshly.

This year I used this as an argumentative writing piece. I gave each student a copy of this article by Affective Teaching and the response by Angela Millar (here). I wanted students to emulate what Angela did, and write a response to their teachers. The stipulations were that they could bash me by name if needed, but all other teachers must be addressed generally and we discussed slander and constructive criticism.

If you tell me I suck, I can’t get better at that, what’s something I can get…

View original post 357 more words

One thought on “Affective Teaching Response Letters: It’s all about the one.

Leave a Reply

