Do you have a red pen?

Discover,Teach,Learn,Dream

Do you have a red pen?

For one of my lessons during my pre internship I wanted to give students a chance to explore the rubric I had given them for their summative assessment. I debated for a while on how I should approach this but then my co-op suggested that I should give them a model of the essay and have them mark it.

The one thing that stood out to me was that over half of the students in the class asked if I had a red pen that I could borrow to mark the essay with. This made me laugh because to me it showed what a traditional view of assessment that my students had. The connection between the red pen and marking is still alive and strong. One student even commented that he could not do any real marking until he had a red pen.

I…

View original post 269 more words

Leave a Reply

